European Union Members
Austria Denmark Hungary Malta Slovenia
Belgium Estonia Ireland Netherlands Spain
Bulgaria Finland Italy Poland Sweden
Cyprus France Latvia Portugal
Croatia Germany Lithuania Romania
Czech Republic Greece Luxembourg Slovakia


Commonwealth Countries
Antigua and Barbuda Ghana Namibia South Africa
Australia Grenada Nauru Sri Lanka
The Bahamas Guyana New Zealand Togo
Bangladesh India Nigeria Tonga
Barbados Jamaica Pakistan Trinidad and Tobago
Belize Kenya Papua New Guinea Tuvalu
Botswana Kingdom of Eswatini Rwanda Uganda
Brunei Darussalam Kiribati Saint Kitts and Nevis United Kingdom
Cameroon Lesotho Saint Lucia United Republic of Tanzania
Canada Malawi Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Vanuatu
Cyprus* Malaysia Samoa Zambia
Dominica Maldives Seychelles Zimbabwe
Fiji Malta* Sierra Leone
Gabon Mauritius Singapore
The Gambia Mozambique Solomon Islands

* Although also EU member states, citizens of Cyprus and Malta are eligible to be registered to vote in respect of all elections held in the UK

Citizens of Commonwealth countries that have been suspended from the Commonwealth retain their voting rights. Their voting rights would only be affected if their country was also deleted from the list of Commonwealth countries in the British Nationality Act 1981 through an Act of the UK Parliament.


British Overseas Territories
Anguilla Montserrat
Bermuda Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands
British Antarctic Territory St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
British Indian Ocean Territory South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
Cayman Islands Sovereign Base areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia on Cyprus
Falkland Islands Turks and Caicos Islands
Gibraltar Virgin Islands

Following its transfer to Chinese sovereignty on 1 July 1997, Hong Kong was deleted from the list of British Overseas Territories. As a result, former residents of Hong Kong are not automatically qualifying Commonwealth citizens.

Only those previous residents of Hong Kong who hold a British Overseas Territories, British Nationals (Overseas) or British Overseas passport meet the nationality criterion for all elections in the UK. Any previous resident of Hong Kong who only has a Chinese Special Administrative Region passport is Chinese and may not register as a qualifying Commonwealth citizen. They may, however, be eligible to register as a qualifying foreign national.