The Grampian Valuation Joint Board was established as part of the 1996 reorganisation of local government in terms of The Valuation Joint Boards (Scotland) Order 1995 and is vested with the functions of the three valuation authorities (Aberdeen City Council, Aberdeenshire Council and Moray Council) in the area of the former Grampian Region. With the agreement of the three councils the Board also has responsibility for the Electoral Registration function.  The Board comprises 15 members who are appointed by the three councils with the Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire councils each nominating 6 members and Moray Council 3 members.  The Board is responsible for the administrative side of the valuation process: ensuring that there are sufficient staff/offices to fulfill the valuation function monitoring accounts, performance, audit and complaint matters.  The Board and its members cannot however become involved in valuation decisions made by the Assessor.  The Assessor has an independent professional valuation role which is required by the courts to be free of political influence or interference.  Similar provisions apply to ensure that registration decisions made by the Electoral Registration Officer (ERO) are also the responsibility of the ERO and not the Board.

The membership of the Board following the 2022 local government elections can be found here;

Aberdeen City Council (6) Councillors  Desmond Bouse, Dell Henrickson, Ciaran McRae, Neil MacGregor, Lynn Thomson & 1 Vacancy
Aberdeenshire Council (6) Councillors Isobel Davidson, Seamus Logan, Sam Payne, Stephen Smith, Iain Taylor & Judy Whyte
Moray Council (3) Councillors Donald Gatt, Marc Macrae & Sonya Warren

Councillor Donald Gatt is the Convener of the Board and Councillor Isobel Davidson is the Vice-Convener

Roddy Burns, Chief Executive of Moray Council, is the Clerk to the Board.

Lorraine Paisey, Head of Finance for Moray Council, is the Treasurer to the Board.

Any board related correspondence should be addressed to the Grampian Valuation Joint Board, Woodhill House, Westburn Road, Aberdeen, AB15 6GE. For telephone enquiries, call 01224 068400.

The current schedule of Board meetings for 2023 & 2024 is provided below.

27 January 2023 Online Occurred
30 June 2023 Hybrid Occurred
1 September 2023 Hybrid Postponed
3 November 2023 Hybrid
26 January 2024 Hybrid
28 June 2024 Hybrid
30 August 2024 Hybrid
1 November 2024 Hybrid

Hybrid meetings will be held in the Council Chamber, Moray Council Headquarters, High Street, Elgin for those attending in person, or via Connect Remote for those attending remotely, and will begin at 09:30am.

Copies of the minutes and reports for Board meetings can be accessed via this link

The Ethical Standards in Public Life etc. (Scotland) Act 2002

In terms of this legislation the Grampian Valuation Joint Board is neither a Council nor a devolved public body and is therefore not under a duty to keep a Register of Members Interests. The registers of the interests of individual members are however maintained by their constituent councils.